Home » Musings » And the nail art adventure begins.

And the nail art adventure begins.

So thanks to pinterest (which you could totes check out my boards here) and instagram (follow me @amandapanda0819), my head has been filled with waaaay too many nail art ideas.

With a quick trip to Pat Catan’s, and a bit of searching in the scrap booking isle, I came home ready to try my hand at some more simple designs. I spent all of four dollars and some odd cents there, and I didn’t even use one of the packs of rhinestone embellishments I picked up. (Thank you VIP membership card! I spend more time and money at Pat Catan’s than I’d like to admit.)

First, if you’ve ever seen the tool with the rounded tips that professionals use to do nail art, and you’re a scrapbooker or card maker (or know one, like I do), then you’ll notice the crazy resemblance the tool has to a dry embossing stylus.

DW3

See? The nail art ones on the right just look prettier.

The embossing stylus only cost me a dollar. I didn’t mind paying that much to test out the process.

c128982655724528590ea05018d67af6

And look at the cute polka dots! It was so worth it.

My second buy, also just over a dollar, was a pack of small pearl letters.

images

Something you can find at any craft store.

My boyfriend, who very nicely followed me and carried the shopping basket (he’s such a keeper), was kind of curious why I was buying these. He thought I was going to spell out something on my fingers. Instead, with a few snips to break up the letters, I was left with a string of perfectly spaced pearls on a thin sticky strip.

02a24ca3377617e43d4ca136b7ce9250

And I must say, they were the perfect embellishment.

With my first dabble in nail art a success, I was itching to try more. It started as harmless photo viewing on instagram, which then turned into a pinterest pinning spree (there are endless nail art boards)… and then I found myself on amazon.

I bought a few different sets of clear and colored gems, way too many rolls of colored line tape, a brush set, and another set of dotting tools (I wanted more sizes). All of that for like fifteen dollars with shipping. How did I find it so cheap, you ask? It’s coming from China. Which, I must say, I was a little skeptical about at first. But all the products and sellers had pretty good reviews. And I thought for a buck or two a pop, the products were definitely worth trying out. And the majority of them were free shipping! Yes, I might have to wait two weeks to get them, but I’m okay with this.

What did cost a bit more was the two sets of nail art stamping plates and a stamper/scraper set I broke down and purchased. Although, even those didn’t break the bank, so I’m not regretting it much.

However, it was entirely too easy too easy to purchase everything. Internet shopping might be dangerous for me in the future… you don’t even know how much nail art stuff there is out there. Soooo much.

Tell me what you think...